This is an archive of the Treatment Action Campaign's public documents from December 1998 until October 2008. I created this website because the TAC's website appears unmaintained and people were concerned that it
was becoming increasingly hard to find important documents.

The menu items have been slightly edited and a new stylesheet applied to the site. But none of the documents have been edited, not even for minor errors. The text appears on this site as obtained from the Internet Archive.

The period covered by the archive encompassed the campaign for HIV medicines, the civil disobedience campaigns, the Competition Commission complaints, the 2008 xenophobic violence and the PMTCT, Khayelitsha health workers and Matthias Rath court cases.

TAC National Executive Council (NEC)

Elected at 4th TAC National Congress, March 14-16 2008


The TAC secretariat is composed of the organisation's office bearers and is the day-to-day decision making body of the Treatment Action Campaign.

Name Position Contact Details
Nonkosi Khumalo Chairperson 074 194 5911
Teboho Klaas Deputy Chairperson 076 692 9583
Vuyiseka Dubula General Secretary 082 763 3005
Zackie Achmat Deputy General Secretary 083 777 9981
Mark Heywood Treasurer until June 2008 083 634 8806
Nathan Geffen Treasurer from July 2008 084 542 6322



Provincial Council Representatives

The Provincial Council representatives were elected at TAC's six provincial congresses held in the first quarter of 2008 before the National Congress.

Position Province Contact Details
Fredalene Booysen Provincial Coordinator Western Cape 073 206 3611
Ntombozuko Kraai Deputy Chairperson Western Cape 073 354 1085
Portia Ngcaba Provincial Coordinator Eastern Cape 078 456 9102
Anele Yawa Deputy Chairperson Eastern Cape 083 495 4055
Gordon Mthembu Provincial Coordinator Gauteng 078 456 3845
Bheki Khoza Provincial Coordinator Mpumalanga 078 603 0498
Bongi Skhosana Secretary Mpumalanga 073 475 7299
Phillip Mokoena Provincial Coordinator KZN 078 456 3847
Gugu Mpungose Secretary KZN 078 224 2276
Eddy Tinyiko Marilele Deputy Chairperson Limpopo 083 687 4527
Solanga Solly Milambo Secretary Limpopo 072 865 7771



Sector Representatives

The sector representatives were elected at the 4th National Congress.

Name Position Contact Details
Sidumo Dlamini Labour Rep.  
Bukelwa Voko Children's Rep. 082 945 8504
Lihle Dlamini Women's Rights Campaign Rep. 073 152 1952
Emma Baleka Women's Rights Campaign Rep.  
Mashudu Mfomande People Living With HIV Rep. 072 095 9327
Thuli Manikela People Living With HIV Rep.